What are chakras?

Chakras are alive. They breathe. They open and close. They feel and send energy, they respond to colour and sound. They interact with everything around you.  In a way, they are us. 

Think of yourself as a multiplex cinema with seven screens. There is a different film going on in each one: adventure, romance, inspirational, horror, documentary. You can move from one film to another or you can get stuck in one and over-identify with that part of yourself.  You can learn how to become ‘chakra wise’ by learning to read or balance your chakras in order to travel easily from one to the next. With this holistic approach, you can integrate all of yourself.

What are they made of?

Each chakra is constructed from a subtle substance called ether, also known as qi or prana.  Ether is intelligent and  self – luminous. The very nature of ether is to create shape.  Ether is found in and around everything in nature on our planet. Ether is found in and around every cell of our bodies.  We have an etheric double a body just like our own that can separate and travel. Our chakras and acupuncture meridians are made of this. Ether naturally takes on a distinct three-dimensional form, like a hologram and maintains it.  This of this level of energy as your skeleton. Our feelings, thoughts, past life memories are the flesh and organs.  Each chakra has a history and a future. 

In chakras, ether can take many shapes, indicating what part of the chakra is being experienced. Shapes vary based on evolution, culture and individual past life journeys, but almost invariably take a circle-based form: a spiral, a flower, a sphere, or a wheel. The structure of the chakras can be strengthened with meditation and movement.

What about colours?

The new age approach to chakras is based on a misconception: the chakras are not the colours of the rainbow. This misunderstanding can create a problem: when you focus on the colours of the rainbow this can serve to strengthen the third chakra (the solar plexus, aligned with the light spectrum of the sun) but can do little more, and an over-emphasis on any one chakra leads to imbalance. 

Within the chakras are colours inside the etheric shapes. Every colour indicates an emotion and/or thought. There are colours associated with each chakra, but not in a fixed way: colours are more changeable than the structure of the chakras.  For example, red, gold, pink, white, or black are associated with the first or root chakra. These colours are a language of ‘light intelligence’ which you can learn to read, and I have developed a whole system of understanding what each colour means. 

Open vs. closed chakras

What does it mean when a chakra is ‘open’ or ‘closed’?

When a chakra is closed, the associated area of the body will not be as physically healthy and you will have emotional or mental difficulties. If, for example, your throat chakra is closed, you will have challenges expressing yourself verbally, have low self-esteem, a weakened immune system and difficulty manifesting your spiritual potential.

When a chakra is open, you experience life in a very different way. You don’t just experience with the physical senses, but you experience with your ‘mind’, using your innate (previously dormant) psychic abilities. We all have the potential for a greater spectrum of experience. Real feelings of joy and happiness, gratitude and good heartedness can be realised along with greater insights into the meaning of life. (This doesn’t mean that everyone will immediately become telepathic or clairvoyant, but with practice these abilities evolve.)

Taking psychedelic drugs forces the chakras to open, resulting in ‘extraordinary’ experiences.  These experiences are powerful because they are real and attainable. They can be felt as liberating and attractive with overwhelming sensations of joy, bliss, and expansion. However, drugs create tremendous stress on the nervous system that can result in long-lasting neurological damage and persistent psychological problems. The intensity of a chemically-induced psychic experience can ‘fry’ not just our brains but the etheric body of our chakras.  In my experience it is possible to achieve these same states unaided by drugs and their associated drawbacks.

Why work on your chakras?

We all wish to develop and evolve in the best and most balanced way. All of us prefer to favour our strengths and avoid our weaknesses.  This is one of the joys of learning to work with your own chakras. When you concentrate on the chakras that need help then you can make real changes in yourself. You can start to see or feel more light and colour within as you learn to literally ‘light up’. This is essential for those on the spiritual path as the colours that you perceive inside your mind that appear as inner light, shapes, memories of childhood and your former incarnations are all within, like hidden treasure.

Not all approaches to working with chakras are offered in a balanced way as some focus on only one chakra, such as the third eye or root chakra. The two main rules of thumb are: never to force a chakra to open; and to work with the entire system, not just one.  I recommend and teach heart-centred and non-forceful methods with goals of greater clarity, happiness, generosity and strength.

The way to open the chakras naturally and safely takes a very honest, personal and disciplined approach. The courses that I offer are the result of direct teachings from my inner guides, thousands of hours over four decades of dedicated clairvoyant investigation and teaching, all supported by my own study and training in many traditional forms of meditation, yoga and Qi Gong.

A bit more about chakras

Our First Set of seven body chakras spiral both forwards and backwards. The frontal expressions of major chakras engage in our daily life, expressing personal capacities and are particularly focused on this particular embodiment or incarnation. The dorsal expressions engage in collective energies of which we are all a part.

Beyond the seven chakras familiar to most, I have discovered that there are additional chakras within the body such as the Inner Chamber of the Heart chakra known as Hrit, the Higher Heart Chakra or Utpala and a vestigial Dream Chakra at the back of the head.

Further, there is a second set chakras above the body that connect us to the universe and beyond.  And another third set that is beyond location that I call the Supra-Cosmic Self or the Non-Self.

The Second Set of chakras extend directly above us. From one perspective, you can think of another ‘you’ standing on top of your head like a circus acrobat.  There are seven of these transcendental chakras.  They compose the ‘higher self’ that I prefer to call the Big Self or Cosmic Self. Each of these chakras connects us further and further into our physical universe. In essence, this is a mechanism by which the macrocosm of reality and the microcosm of our own personal body are connected.

The Third Set of chakras are Supra-Cosmic a Non-Self. This Self is everything from the subatomic forces in matter to the multiverse in non-locality or simultaneity. .  These five centres correspond to the five energetic chakra-mantles of the Earth.

These three sets create a complete system of nineteen fully-integrated chakras.  It is a my approach to ancient practices and knowledge offered as a coherent and consistent workable system. 


I explain some of these ideas in an interview with Chris Flisher (interview starts at 1:00).

%d bloggers like this: